Gimlet Support – Privacy Guard

The Gimlet Privacy Guard

The Gimlet Privacy Guard allows you to automatically remove the text from the Question and Answer fields after a specified amount of time. Other data, such as timestamps, statistics categories, and tags, won't be changed.

Settings

Privacy Guard Settings

To turn this on, go to the My account tab and change Clear question and answer text to something other than Never. You will have at least 24 hours to change it back if you change your mind.

Background

In short: Use this feature to help protect your patrons’ privacy.

Gimlet is not, and never will be, compliant with strict data security regulations such as HIPAA and FERPA in the United States or the patchwork of similar regulations in the rest of the world. For this reason, we have always recommended our clients keep any kind of potentially sensitive or identifying information out of Gimlet.

However — we’re all human, and humans make mistakes. Information you'd rather not have in Gimlet can creep in, undetected, and put your patrons at risk in the event of a security breach. One way to reduce your exposure is to completely potentially sensitive information from Gimlet.

Recovering purged data

The short story: Once data has been purged, you can’t recover it.

The somewhat longer story: We keep hourly backups for 28 days. Recovering purged data is possible, though difficult, during that time. Recovery requests will be handled on a case-by-case basis and cost a significant amount of money.

Want to get in touch?

Drop us a line at support@gimlet.us, we'll be happy to answer.